eThekwini Living Legends 2011

The eThekwini Living Legends awards ceremony took place last night at the Inkosi Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre. Twenty-two residents of eThekwini were honoured for the contribution they have made to their communities. Both locally and abroad, their sustained and extraordinary contributions have made an impact in various categories from music, sport, science, business, social work, education and more. They have, in their own way, helped to provide others with a sense of identity and continuity and have promoted respect for cultural diversity and human creativity. They have achieved greatness through their practices, knowledge and skills, and by their expressions have contributed to our city’s rich intangible heritage.

This year’s Living Legends were Mbongeni Mtshali, Jonathan Rhodes, Sam Ramsamy, Dr Angelo Lambiris, Dudu ‘Lady D’ Khoza, Graeme Pollock, Thandie Ngonelo, Felicity Keats, Professor Paulos Zulu, Mato Madlala, Don Mkhwanazi, Susan Barry, Chief Justice Sandile Ngcobo, Lucas Nel, Professor Thandinkosi Madiba, Dr TP Naidoo, Ndikho Xaba, Lorraine Scott, Vivian Reddy, Roslyn Narain, Miriam Cele and Obe Mlaba

Profiles of each Living Legend will be added to the Ulwazi Community Memory.

Leave a Comment