City honours its living legends

Lauretta Ngcobo

Author and anti-apartheid activist Lauretta Ngcobo and Durban jazz stalwart Theo Bhopela were among this year’s recipients of the eThekwini Living Legends Awards, presented during a ceremony at the International Convention Centre in Durban on Saturday (8th September).

Other recipients were botanist Professor Himansu Baij­nath; ANC military veteran Thula Bopela; ANC national chairperson Baleka Mbete; educator Reginald Myeza; Anglican bishop of Natal Rubin Phillip; UN Human Rights commissioner Judge Navi Pillay; artist Michael Sibisi; actress, scriptwriter and founder of the artSmart website Caroline Smart; and ecologist Cecil Ward.

Leave a Comment